Trials and Tribulations

Standard

Being a full time stay at home mom is one of the most wonderful rewarding “jobs” out there. I highly recommend if you have the means to do so, it is well worth all the difficulties that may come hand in hand with the decision.
I came to the realization some time ago the life is no longer about me, but about this little boy that holds my heart. And now I have split that heart in two and have to chase both of the pieces around and keep them safe and happy. I am no longer in control of what makes this happen, but I do know that a big part of it is routine and schedule.
I, myself, would love to be a spontaneous person, but these two little beings that are my world need structure. This can be a hard concept for some to grasp, and some never get a hold of it at all. Unfortunately, my husband has it right on his fingertips but can’t quite get a hold of it.
We are about half way through Jake’s paid family leave, and I honestly have been enjoying his time home more than expected. Although when you are used to being the only one home 5 days a week, it can become difficult learning to co-parent during this time. (And you thought this post was going to be about something else didn’t you?)
I love my husband, he is a wonderful amazingly loving father, but like any other set of parents out there getting on the same page can be an endeavor. Lots of long conversations and frustrating “disagreements” later, I am finally starting to feel like we are at least in the same ball park and no longer playing two different games.
Moral of the lesson: talk talk talk! And when that doesn’t work, talk some more. And MOST importantly, listen.

Leave a Reply

